We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Achalay Hostel

Hostel | Morales 564, Bariloche, Argentina 8400

90.1% Overall Rating

166 out of 168 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2015)

I. C. Turner thinks…

"This was by far my preferred of the two hostels I stayed in in Bariloche. It's pretty characterful, very much like a chalet. There is quite a big garden. If you stayed there longer, you would…"

Read all Achalay Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bariloche

Periko´s Youth Hostel
19.38 USD

Hostel 96.0% 91 reviews
Hostel 41 Below
17.23 USD

Hostel 96.3% 253 reviews
Universal Traveller's Lodge Hostel
12.60 USD

Hostel 87.9% 21 reviews
Las Moiras Hostel
22.00 USD

Hostel 83.8% 15 reviews
Hosteria Guemes
43.07 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Antiguo Solar B&B
43.07 USD

Hostel 97.7% 78 reviews
Pudu Hostel
16.15 USD

Hostel 83.2% 72 reviews
Hostel Inn Bariloche
16.15 USD

Hostel 90.6% 39 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

166 out of 168 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Achalay Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 120 of 167 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Roelofs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was so friendly, location was good, rooms and bathrooms were clean. And de selfmade bread in the morning was amazingly good. Even the coffee was the best coffee i had in argentina. And they gave a small piece of chocolate while checking in...

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, knowledgeable staff, the rock bands themed rooms were pretty cool, bathroom & kitchen got cleaned daily, good homemade bread and jams for breakfast, kitchen was quite well equipped (as opposed to other hostels in Argentina). Nice to be able to have breakfast whenever you want, though after around 12 everything got cleaned and put away, so I guess any later than that you'd have to find the breakfast stuff yourself.

Disliked: Sometimes it got pretty noisy in the common areas, as the people at the reception were talking loudly to what I assume were Argentinian guests. We almost got charged 20% more because the receptionist was under the impression that this surcharge was mentioned on Hostelbookers, when in fact it only applies to Booking.com.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic staff, so helpful, couldn't do enough to make our stay full of interesting activities.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pablo Alvarez

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2013 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Although I've only been one day the atmosphere of this place is incredible. The people are very friendly and fun. The location is excellent. I will definitely return.

Disliked: Pablo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Porter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2013 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Such an amazing hostel! Very clean, they make your bed every day! I was spoiled. Amazing homemade bread every day, every hour, with this awesome homemade raspberry jam. Pueblo is great and makes an amazing BBQ. He will give you an entire cow! (Seriously). Staff helpful with setting up activities and giving information. A nice family atmosphere. Not a party hostel though. Everyone very quiet and respectful. I definitely recommend this place!

Disliked: Nada!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is great, homemade seedy bread with jam, apples, cereals, tea and coffee. If you come for breakfast a bit late they will still make sure you get something. The rooms are musically themed which was fun. Bathrooms checked and cleaned 4 times a day with shampoo available. When you arrive they give you a discount card for local restaurants. We used this 3 times so was a good deal for places we would have gone in anyway.

Disliked: Not much to dislike. They made a mistake with our booking, but this worked out well. We got to stay in the double room for the same price as a two bed dorm. Then they closed off the four bed dorm so we could have it to ourselves despite it being high season. We couldn't extend our stay as the place was so popular and booked up!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: manager was extremely helpful for everything. great atmosphere and great home made bread for breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean but too dark. They need some hangers on the wall(had only 1-2 on the back door)

Disliked: The toilet in the bathroom was hard to flush that we had to go over some troubles. Bathroom smells a little and the tub was kind of clogged after shower.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

lucie place

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 lucie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff

Disliked: Maybe too quiet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alfredo Rodriguez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: Simply perfect. It's a home away from home feel. Pablo, the owner, is an amazing host and makes you feel like you have known him all your life. Everything about the place is comfortable, beds, rooms, kitchen, and atmosphere. The free breakfast is especially excellent because bread and jam are freshly made daily (best jam i've ever had). I cant leave out the asado. Pablo, it was the best i had in all of Argentina. Thank you Pablo, family, and staff.

Disliked: Alfredo left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Olga Gamayunov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: The staff very usefull, good kitchen

Disliked: The bathroom is old and dirty

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, good wifi, comfortable beds, friendly owners.

Disliked: There is very little space at the house. The rooms are small (can barely open some of the lockers), the kitchen is tiny, the living area cannot accommodate enough people and there are only 2 bathrooms for 20-something people. The owners and their family used the kitchen and living room often, so cooking and lounging about were difficult. The day receptionist was rather unhelpful about travel information. Not a good place to meet other travelers, especially if you don't speak Spanish.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Cahill

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

04 January 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Really fantastic atmosphere, very friendly & extremely helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small; intimate and friendly

Disliked: Noisy and sometimes crowded.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonas Thein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2012 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time at the Achalay Hostal. The owner is really helpful and friendly. Gave me great recommendation on what to do and how to do it in the cheapest way. When i arrived they were having a bbq. Before i could take off my backpack i had wine and a steak in my hands. The owner bakes fresh bread every morning. Really a great experience!!

Disliked: Jonas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: es war das beste hostel in dem ich je war.die atmosphaere ist wie zu hause.der host ist der knaller.hilfbereit,gibt viele tipps,lustig,ein guter koch-selbstgebackenes brot und marmelade-ein asado vom feinsten.rundum top.habe die zeit sehr genossen.fussball gucken mit ihm ist ein echtes erlebnis.nochmal viele gruesse an carlos-jan

Disliked: nichts

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kelly de jong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012 kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, homemade and a lot of choice. The asado is very good. The staff is very helpfull. The dorms are quite small (not a lot of beds in one room) which is nice. A good hostel to meet travelers and have a nice time together.

Disliked: kelly left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernd Meixner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2012 Bernd would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Bariloche. Paulo "the boss" is a great guy - he cares for everything. Well located hostel, clean, nice people. tour desk....

Disliked: Bernd left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Veney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Achalay is one of the best value-for-money hostels we've stayed in throughout South America. It has all the facilities you need and is a really friendly place with a nice home feel. Pablo is so helpful, providing you with lots of information about things to do around Bariloche - trekking, road trips, kayaking, paragliding etc. Breakfast is a delicious selction of homemade bread and jams, served anytime of the day you want. The beds are super comfortable and warm. Other reviewers have said the pressure in the showers is very weak but we didn't experience this at all - its just like using any water saving shower.

Disliked: Nothing! However just be aware that the description says there is carparking, but there isn't really any secure space for a car. There is space to park a bicycle or motorbike though.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Wright

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly and helpful staff, the breakfast, the character of the rooms.

Disliked: nothing, but we only stayed one night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mira Bode

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012 Mira would recommend this property

Liked: Pablo, his wife and daughter are incredibly nice and helpful! The rooms are nice and bright and the lockers huge! Also the beds are really comfortable. The breakfast is GREAT; homemade raspberry jam and bread and breakfast is as long as everyone has eaten. WIFI was stable, also in the bedrooms and the kitchen is very well equipped. It was a great stay there, we really enjoyed the hostel's great atmosphere.

Disliked: Mira left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ange Scott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2012 Ange would recommend this property

Liked: I don't think I can say enough good things about Achalay! Pablo and Flor are awesome. So friendly and so helpful! Their daughter Emma is adorable. We stayed here over an 8-day period in various rooms because our friends met us there halfway through our stay. The double with shared bathroom was good value and we didn't have any issues with the shower despite other people's negative comments. We moved to the upstairs double with private bathroom for a few days and that was great. Very spacious and airy. Lastly we stayed in a 4-person dorm and found it to be a little cramped but the lockers are big enough to store all your things so you can keep the floor space clear. Pablo was an excellent resource for things to do around Bariloche and helped us find a great car rental agency (Correntoso). He also loaned us a few items for our road trip to Patagonia. Way above and beyond what we'd expect from a hostel owner! He's also a master of the grill and bakes homemade bread that's served with homemade jams for breakfast. We can't wait to be back at Hostel Achalay in December.

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Arthur Schuster

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Arthur would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Pablo is a great host, very helpful and enthusiastic. Good location, comfy beds.

Disliked: Small room, poor water pressure in shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Private room was small and simple but comfortable, bathroom was clean and large and kitchen was nice. Pablo was a terrific host, baking homemade bread every day and firing up the grill for a killer parrilla one night while explaining just what it means to be a Boca fan. Lots of good info about activities and a warm welcome.

Disliked: It's up a short but steep hill from the center of town - just a block or two though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ariel rosemberg

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012 ariel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Achalay is second to none. I felt right at home from the moment I walked in the door. Pablo, Flor and Nati are extremely helpful in getting Bariloche first-timers on their feet with the best the community has to offer. I would absolutely recommend Achalay to any Bariloche traveler.

Disliked: Nothing