HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Achalay Hostel

Hostel | Morales 564, Bariloche, Argentina 8400

95.4% Overall Rating

150 out of 151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2014)

"Really lovely staff, great owner- pablo, good facilities, nice beds, hot zhowers, homemade bread for breakfast and a friendly atmosphere."

Read all Achalay Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bariloche

Periko´s Youth Hostel
14.16 USD

Hostel 94.4% 86 reviews
Cóndor de los Andes
7.55 USD

Hostel 82.2% 22 reviews
Hostel 41 Below
14.16 USD

Hostel 96.3% 253 reviews
Quimelen Lodge
11.80 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Universal Traveller's Lodge Hostel
11.80 USD

Hostel 87.4% 12 reviews
Las Moiras Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 82.7% 14 reviews
Hosteria Guemes
34.22 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HOSTEL LIKE
11.21 USD

Hostel 82.7% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.4%

Overall Rating

150 out of 151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Achalay Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 110 of 150 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Olga Gamayunov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: The staff very usefull, good kitchen

Disliked: The bathroom is old and dirty

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, good wifi, comfortable beds, friendly owners.

Disliked: There is very little space at the house. The rooms are small (can barely open some of the lockers), the kitchen is tiny, the living area cannot accommodate enough people and there are only 2 bathrooms for 20-something people. The owners and their family used the kitchen and living room often, so cooking and lounging about were difficult. The day receptionist was rather unhelpful about travel information. Not a good place to meet other travelers, especially if you don't speak Spanish.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Cahill

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

04 January 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Really fantastic atmosphere, very friendly & extremely helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small; intimate and friendly

Disliked: Noisy and sometimes crowded.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonas Thein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2012 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time at the Achalay Hostal. The owner is really helpful and friendly. Gave me great recommendation on what to do and how to do it in the cheapest way. When i arrived they were having a bbq. Before i could take off my backpack i had wine and a steak in my hands. The owner bakes fresh bread every morning. Really a great experience!!

Disliked: Jonas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: es war das beste hostel in dem ich je war.die atmosphaere ist wie zu hause.der host ist der knaller.hilfbereit,gibt viele tipps,lustig,ein guter koch-selbstgebackenes brot und marmelade-ein asado vom feinsten.rundum top.habe die zeit sehr genossen.fussball gucken mit ihm ist ein echtes erlebnis.nochmal viele gruesse an carlos-jan

Disliked: nichts

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kelly de jong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012 kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, homemade and a lot of choice. The asado is very good. The staff is very helpfull. The dorms are quite small (not a lot of beds in one room) which is nice. A good hostel to meet travelers and have a nice time together.

Disliked: kelly left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernd Meixner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2012 Bernd would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Bariloche. Paulo "the boss" is a great guy - he cares for everything. Well located hostel, clean, nice people. tour desk....

Disliked: Bernd left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Veney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Achalay is one of the best value-for-money hostels we've stayed in throughout South America. It has all the facilities you need and is a really friendly place with a nice home feel. Pablo is so helpful, providing you with lots of information about things to do around Bariloche - trekking, road trips, kayaking, paragliding etc. Breakfast is a delicious selction of homemade bread and jams, served anytime of the day you want. The beds are super comfortable and warm. Other reviewers have said the pressure in the showers is very weak but we didn't experience this at all - its just like using any water saving shower.

Disliked: Nothing! However just be aware that the description says there is carparking, but there isn't really any secure space for a car. There is space to park a bicycle or motorbike though.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Wright

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly and helpful staff, the breakfast, the character of the rooms.

Disliked: nothing, but we only stayed one night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mira Bode

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012 Mira would recommend this property

Liked: Pablo, his wife and daughter are incredibly nice and helpful! The rooms are nice and bright and the lockers huge! Also the beds are really comfortable. The breakfast is GREAT; homemade raspberry jam and bread and breakfast is as long as everyone has eaten. WIFI was stable, also in the bedrooms and the kitchen is very well equipped. It was a great stay there, we really enjoyed the hostel's great atmosphere.

Disliked: Mira left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ange Scott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2012 Ange would recommend this property

Liked: I don't think I can say enough good things about Achalay! Pablo and Flor are awesome. So friendly and so helpful! Their daughter Emma is adorable. We stayed here over an 8-day period in various rooms because our friends met us there halfway through our stay. The double with shared bathroom was good value and we didn't have any issues with the shower despite other people's negative comments. We moved to the upstairs double with private bathroom for a few days and that was great. Very spacious and airy. Lastly we stayed in a 4-person dorm and found it to be a little cramped but the lockers are big enough to store all your things so you can keep the floor space clear. Pablo was an excellent resource for things to do around Bariloche and helped us find a great car rental agency (Correntoso). He also loaned us a few items for our road trip to Patagonia. Way above and beyond what we'd expect from a hostel owner! He's also a master of the grill and bakes homemade bread that's served with homemade jams for breakfast. We can't wait to be back at Hostel Achalay in December.

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Arthur Schuster

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Arthur would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Pablo is a great host, very helpful and enthusiastic. Good location, comfy beds.

Disliked: Small room, poor water pressure in shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Private room was small and simple but comfortable, bathroom was clean and large and kitchen was nice. Pablo was a terrific host, baking homemade bread every day and firing up the grill for a killer parrilla one night while explaining just what it means to be a Boca fan. Lots of good info about activities and a warm welcome.

Disliked: It's up a short but steep hill from the center of town - just a block or two though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ariel rosemberg

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012 ariel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Achalay is second to none. I felt right at home from the moment I walked in the door. Pablo, Flor and Nati are extremely helpful in getting Bariloche first-timers on their feet with the best the community has to offer. I would absolutely recommend Achalay to any Bariloche traveler.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Nathan Battersby

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012

Liked: Homemade jam for breakfast is awesome.

Disliked: There were mice in our room and in the walls, this meant we hardly slept. Half of the light globes in the place were blown making it very hard to see in the dark without a flashlight. There is extremely low water pressure in the showers and they are very small.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, great atmosphere and location. Home-made jam with toast and fresh coffee for breakfast, and an excelent bbq the night we arrived! The staff were all very knowledgable about local activities, which you can book through the hostel which makes things easy, and recommmended some great places to eat and drink. Would highly recommend it to other travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleanor Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2012 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and friendly, felt like a home away from home - complete with adorable baby. They happily went out of their way to organise everything from kayaking to bus tickets for us. The all-day breakfast and lack of lockdown time were invaluable for nights out, and the price was excellent. A+, would stay again!

Disliked: Eleanor left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Francisco Jr. Marcelo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Francisco Jr. would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very close the center and the staff are friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast starts at 8am. Most tours have pick up at 8am so most of the time you do not get to take their free breakfast.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annabel Beattie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2012 Annabel would recommend this property

Liked: Achalay was amazing, the staff super friendly and helpful, the asados incredible, and the homemade jams for breakfast yum! Plus with gorgeous little Emma crawling round you felt more like you were staying in a home than a hostel. The beanbags were also great for lounging!

Disliked: Annabel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Brigandi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very helpful staff. They also do an asado each week which was great for meeting other travellers. The meal is great value for money. Rooms are clean. Particularly loved the double with ensuite bathroom on the top floor.

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Dua

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Great persons operating the facility. Extremely friendly and helpfull. Good breakfast. No rush at all. Just a wonderfull hostel. Willing to assist in anyway possible.

Disliked: Only two bathrooms. There was a queue in the mornings for a shower.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Antony Lindley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and a great breakfast. Very close to town too.

Disliked: Antony left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was small, but it was cozy and the peolpe was friendly. And I like that it was clean and the beds were comfertable

Disliked: when it was full it was a bit crowed, epecially when the people who worked there brought a kid as well. but not a problem, just abit crowded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathrin Oehrli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2012 Kathrin would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, good breakfast, very clean, amazing beds! (after 7 hours walk)! Good place to hanging around also without lakeview!

Disliked: Room was bid dark, just one toilet for 6 people wich can be a bit busy in the morning.