We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alaska Hostel

Hostel | Lilinquen 328, (Alt. Bustillo Km 7.5), Bariloche, Argentina .

89.7% Overall Rating

103 out of 108 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/01/2014)

"Fairly quiet location in residential neighborhood. Decent breakfast, good kitchen. Comfortable beds, good hot water. Comfortable common area.. Good availability. Staff was very helpful. Easy to take the bus around, once…"

Read all Alaska Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bariloche

Apartments Flia. Baumann
6.53 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Green House Hostel Bariloche
14.25 USD

Hostel 95.1% 66 reviews
La Barraca Suites
8.91 USD

Guesthouse 90.4% 43 reviews
Hostel El Gaucho
17.50 USD

Hostel 83.8% 93 reviews
Hosteria La Luna
12.23 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Petunia Camping
12.00 USD

Campsite 72.4% 3 reviews
Tangoinn Downtown
15.44 USD

Hostel 87.7% 127 reviews
Marcopolo inn Hostel
13.07 USD

Hostel 84.6% 124 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

103 out of 108 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alaska Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 88 of 103 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Paredes

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2014 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the place and the attention

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die Atmosphäre

Disliked: Badezimmer

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly quiet location in residential neighborhood. Decent breakfast, good kitchen. Comfortable beds, good hot water. Comfortable common area.. Good availability. Staff was very helpful. Easy to take the bus around, once you figured out the stops.

Disliked: Didn't like music on all the time - most people slept late but the staff put the music on when breakfast was available at 8am and it was on until late at night. Our room got VERY hot in the afternoons, and there was no safe way to leave windows open. Hard to get it to cool off enough...windows were large and ground level with no screens...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014

Liked: Nice common areas, location close to the lake.

Disliked: The 8 bed-dorm I stayed in is in the basement, so it's pretty dark and cold. The bathrooms are mouldy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building itself is a cosy, comfortable cabin. I loved the kitchen and living area. Everybody was very friendly and relaxed. Breakfast every morning and lots of information about things to do in Bariloche.

Disliked: Nothing I really disliked: At first you think the location is a little out of the way, but really it´s right between the city and all of the natural excursions. Getting to the main road is really only a few blocks.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner nice and helpful, kitchen well organised and much equipment. Very easy to know other people. Location bit far off the city, but very nice scenery. Nice hiking trails.

Disliked: Next supermarket 1km away, bathrooms very old and messy and toilet paper missing at times. Bit difficult to reach for South American beginners (bus stop system a bit difficult)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly place, warm, cosy and with fresh bread every morning. Good tourist advice, with plenty to do in the area. Great well equipped kitchen.

Disliked: Although fresh bread was available - there was little else for breakfast, not ideal when you've got an active day ahead. Very difficult to get there by bus at night as impossible to see the km markers when the bus driver speeds down the road - be sure to ask them to stop at the right place to avoid a very long walk....some signage from the main road would be good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Landy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2013 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double room without en suite which was quite large. It had space/bunks for an extra two people so would have been a great room for a family. Javi and Nati were wonderful hosts and Pam was a wonderful worker there. When you arrive you are given a thorough talk from one of the owners about the region. The facilities were clean. Wifi was occassionally intermittent as the router would time out sometimes but when it worked (95% of the time) it was fast. They speak a number of languages between them which is helpful. Have a wonderful knowledge of the area. The common areas are super relaxing and there was a real communal feel about the place. Also unlimited tea and coffee.

Disliked: I didnt dislike anything but if you are into a massive breakfast with a lot of variety this may not be suitable for you. Tea, coffee, juice, homemade bread and spreads. Enough for me. Also if you wanted to be in the centre Alaska is a 15 bus ride but is really easy. I would prefer to stay out where Alaska is as it is closer to all the activities on offer in Bariloche.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michèle Lochmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2013 Michèle would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice place :-)

Disliked: Michèle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was nice and well located . it was near the lake and away from the turistic center

Disliked: I liked all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a quiet, attractive location which I found much nicer than the town centre. Staff / owners are so welcoming and helpful and happy to tell you lots about things to do, they work really hard to make sure that you have a good stay, and work hard to keep it nice and clean. Kitchen / dining area is great and beds are solid and comfy.

Disliked: Only minor comments - but I didn't feel like there was quite enough breakfast (although lovely homemade bread), also can be quite noisy at night as I guess is away from town so people tend to socialise in the hostel. But that is also a plus as there is a nice atmosphere :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Naty & Yavi could not have been more helpful with me and everyone. They were always explaining how to get to wherever and what was worth doing. Many interesting people to talk to and a good group dinner effort the last night I was there. Cheap beer, so cheap and good that I recommended they increase the price. Great cable TV and 2 computers for free internet. Big lockers. Fun place !

Disliked: A little remote but still worth the effort to get there, as demonstrated by their absence of vacancies. People were competing for space on the couches so they could hang around. I would have stayed a day or two more myself, but I gave up and moved on.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mario Grill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: quiet place outside the awful city next to the best spots around bariloche - nice hostel with the nice owner naty and javi

Disliked: Mario left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place for relaxing - out of town but much closer to all the stuff your there to see and a stones throw away from playa bonita beach. The hostel itself is so cosy with a huge kitchen area for cooking. Nati and Javi were great hosts - really friendly and helpful. We loved our stay here.

Disliked: Could have been a little more on offer for breakfast but overall loved it here

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpfull. Nadie and Javier make a very cute couple and you know they like what they do. The ambiance of the place was really chill and relaxing, I made a lot of friends there. The place is also really beautiful, with a nice lounge, and has a great kitchen with 2 refrigirators. The location was perfect for me as I wanted to ski in Cerro Catedral. Being right by the road that lead there, all I had to do was to wait for a bus or do some hitchiking and I was there really quick! I recommend this place to all travelers, you won't regret it!

Disliked: The breakfast at 8h30 is really late for people like me who want to ski and make the first tracks on the mountain.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was great. Really nice atmosphere, friendly staff, in quiet surroundings, 8 km from the city centre.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful owner. Good kitchen for cooking.

Disliked: The shared bathroom double room is very small. If you book the double room, get the one with ensuite bathroom as it has lots of space and a nice bathroom.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Benjamin Locks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012

Liked: Martin is extremely friendly.

Disliked: The location is TERRIBLE. To me this is a dealbreaker. It is so far from the centro and there is not many shops or restaurants or bars nearby.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebekah Mowbray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2012 Rebekah would recommend this property

Liked: Owned by a wonderfully helpful couple who go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need. Beautiful hostel, great travelers stop by, location just out of time creating a lovely little sanctuary out of the city center. Perfect place to get back to ones roots, or enjoy beautiful company.

Disliked: Zero!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kate allan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2012 kate would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel, would recommend this to anyone. So so friendly, homemade bread in the morning, lovely room and in a great position for exploring the area - we didn't want to leave!

Disliked: nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ralf Kittler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: Fast im Wald gelegen. Kein Tourismus-(Quatsch) vor Ort. Sehr freundliches Team.

Disliked: Fuer Leute die in Bariloche sein wollen, zu weit weg: "ALASKA"! Vom Bus 10 min. zu Fuss (Staub, Berghoch)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James McKay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The owners and atmosphere are the stars of the hostel. The grass and deck out the front is wonderful for chilling Out, meeting people and having an afternoon drink. The owners made us feel Completely at home and went the extra mile to help us out in Any way possible. (Lola the dog is very cute!) we all really enjoyed our stay There and highly recommend anyone to stay here. The Homemade bread in the morning is delicious!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cynthia Mangaba

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 Cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: After lots of travelling and hostels in bustling cities, Alaska was a lovely quiet hideway in the out skirts of the city center. There were not that many other guests, so it felt a bit like we had a whole cabin to ourselves. The hostel is a beautiful log cabin and on cold days , it does feel like it transports you to 'Alaska'. It's a great location to go for walks , close to the beach and main road where you can catch a bus either into town or beautiful locations of Bariloche.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel has a great relaxed atomsphere, Naty and Javi are very very helpful and friendly. A great place to meet other travelers and relax after excursions around Bariloche.

Disliked: If you don´t want to walk anywhere it wouldn´t be very good. But I loved the hostel. Would reccomend this to anyone.