HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Barraca Suites

Guesthouse | Av Los Pioneros 39, Bariloche, Argentina 8400

89.9% Overall Rating

39 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2014)

Anne Koskinen thinks…

"The room was lovely and as others say, the bathroom was new and clean. Nice views. Supermarket just 3min walk away, who stock the essentials."

Read all La Barraca Suites reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.99

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation policy: Before 10 days: 100% of impending booking will be charged Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send the security code (CVV/CVC) of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits of the number on the signature strip at the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in you loosing your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bariloche

Hostel El Gaucho
12.00 USD

Hostel 84.3% 92 reviews
Green House Hostel Bariloche
14.24 USD

Hostel 93.6% 63 reviews
Hosteria La Luna
12.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Alaska Hostel
12.49 USD

Hostel 89.7% 108 reviews
Tangoinn Downtown
12.49 USD

Hostel 87.7% 127 reviews
Hostel Los Troncos
13.74 USD

Hostel 94.5% 33 reviews
Marcopolo inn Hostel
13.74 USD

Hostel 84.6% 124 reviews
Punto Sur Hostel
9.99 USD

Hostel 85.0% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

39 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Barraca Suites'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
97.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 39 of 42 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anne Koskinen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2014 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: The room was lovely and as others say, the bathroom was new and clean. Nice views. Supermarket just 3min walk away, who stock the essentials.

Disliked: There wasnt a lot going on when we visited. The hotel ( its not really a hostel) was very quiet, up a hill from the centre, geared towards families and older travelers I would say. There wasn't a lot of info on activities and unfortunately the service I felt was a little cold and abrupt. Good choice nonetheless if you are happy to do your own thing and like to get an early night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was shocked at how nice the room was for the price... very nicely decorated/stylish with a spotlessly clean (and new) bathroom. Breakfast was even included for the price (basic with bread coffee/tea, Tang/juice, bread, cereal).

Disliked: We had a car, so it wasn't a bother to get to the hostel, but I thought that if we were walking, that would be a steep hill!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Wong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing property! It is up a hill but during winter it was so cold we usually got a cab home at night! We changed rooms several times during our stay as we extended 5 nights! Every room we stayed in was beautifully appointed and amazingly clean! Some rooms were bigger than others. The bathrooms in each room were brand new and sparkling clean everyday. The breakfast was fantastic, bread (wholemeal or white), delicious jam or dulce de leche, cereal, fruit, cakes on busy days as well as juice and tea/coffee. The kitchen was well stocked and we cooked many nights. There is a supermarket 50m up the road as well as a lavanderia. The communal area is fantastic and very welcoming. We loved our stay at La Barraca suits!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, we would have liked for the fireplace to be on, nothing better than a wood fire. Having said that the building was very warm!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Lam

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: A short walk from central, but the hotel more than makes up for it. Beautifully house design, clean and quiet rooms. The backyard is perfect for a sunny day to read a book or a cozy nap.

Disliked: Alan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La Barraca is more like a home rather than a guest house, the house itself is stunning and the location set slightly back from the town and up a hill gives you an amazing view to wake up to in the morning. This is a family run place and it really shows, the couple have taken the time to ensure you enjoy your stay and to make the place feel as homely as possible. Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean as was the kitchen and living area.

Disliked: The property is set back slightly from the town and up quite a steep hill, this wasn't a problem for us but some might find the walk back from the town a little hard, That been said you can get a taxi for around £2 if you dont fancy the walk. Dont be put off by the hill, the views from the property are beautiful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jens Schneider

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 February 2013 Jens would recommend this property

Liked: It is a relaxed and nice place to stay a little outside city center. The rooms are small, but tidy and with comfortable beds. The common room is just great with a wooden ceiling and a leather couch like a landhouse living room. Through the big windows you can see over terrace (was a bit to cold to use it during our stay) and garden to lake Nahuel Huapi.

Disliked: Some might dislike the 10 minutes walk (a little uphill) from the city center, but its well worse the effort!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Couldwell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay here, it was excellent and felt really at home during our stay. The property is beautiful, with a gorgeous lounge with leather sofas, wooden flooring and beams, a nice patio and garden, beautifully furnished rooms overlooking the lake and a well equipped kitchen.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

melissa brookes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Room was extremely spacious and clean. Large kitchen and common area.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a beautiful place! Clean and very nice rooms. Perfect if you want some privacy. The location is good and you have a lovely view from the garden. It was almost like having your own house wich we tought was nice,but if you want to meet other travellers, this is not the place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Halstead

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Superb hotel. The whole place was well decorated, new and immaculately maintained. A short walk out of town but nothing too major. Absolutely superb for the price and would recomend to anyone. Stunning view as well.

Disliked: Steep hill to walk up from town!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More than great value!

Disliked: Breakfast good be better

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Vorgod

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: The best common room ever. Complete with couch, fire place, old books about Patagonia (including Perito Moreno´s...) and a great view.

Disliked: Kristina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silke Buchholz-Loth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2012 Silke would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, quiet, beautiful view, very good common area

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely furnished, clean, great view.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a really nice garden overlookin the lake, a real kitchen and good service - room cleaed everyay!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leah Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2012 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing! Rooms were clean, tidy and well decorated. We were able to happily use the kitchen without any problems. The view in the back garden of the lake is fab. Clara, the hostess is great and helped us book trips. Nice shower.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Manuela Haggenjos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2012

Liked: The price is really good for private rooms.

Disliked: - It is not a place where you meet people - The owner is really not trying to make you feel welcome. Shoe does the minimum that's required and you can tell you're bothering her every time you ask for information or anything else you'd need -Most of the time the reception is empty and you can't find anyone when you need it (And they call themselves 24/24 reception???!!! -The hot water and the shower weren't working properly (we even didn't have any water at all one night)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Beautiful view of the lake and very posh.

Disliked: Make sure that the owner replies to confirm your booking. We arrived and there was no room available for us. The owner was very nice and paid for our taxi to their other property, Hosteria Portofino. This hotel had a more central location, but was not as nice as Las Barracas and cost the same amount of money for a room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room and garden

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere of this place is great and it is well decorated with a view from some of the bedrooms. We really liked the downstairs common areas and met some fun people during our stay. Very close to the main parts of town and supermarkets. Stay in one of the rooms with a private bath and you get great views and a lot of space. Breakfast was average...but it seems like thats the trend in Argentina. Would definitely recommend for the value!

Disliked: Owner seemed indifferent and not always around. Helped if she wanted to, but always seemed overly busy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Doesn´t look like a hostel. Great place to relax and enjoy the lake view.

Disliked: Could be closer to downtown. The breakfast could also be better.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011

Liked: This place has a very relaxed atmosphere and is really nice to use for a bit of a break from the typical hostel environment. It is more like a guest house/B&B but with the additions you'd expect to come with a hostel; kitchen and breakfast included. Rooms are of a good size and comfortable with much storage space if that's what you're after. We were lucky enough to stay here during a period of price promotion (I don't know if it is still the same) which made it excellent value for money - though the original rates were still very competitive. Great view from the dining room/garden over the lake.

Disliked: Nil

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good level, free internet and the view !

Disliked: late breakfast... not before 8.15

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was super clean and homey. I felt comfortable and really safe with the front door locked and my bedroom door locked. It was very close to the center of town and just a bus ride to other fun attractions like the teleferico. It has wonderful views of the lake and the provided breakfast was just what I needed every morning.

Disliked: Sometimes I was unable to find a staff member when I needed something.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Franken

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 April 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and is really helpful. The place is very clean, very safe, a good location, and very cheap. This was our best hostel so far in South America, I would really recommend anyone to stay here if you are in Bariloche. Fast internet, good kitchen, great rooms. All in all, really recommended.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.