HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Barraca Suites

Guesthouse | Av Los Pioneros 39, Bariloche, Argentina 8400

89.9% Overall Rating

39 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2014)

Anne Koskinen thinks…

"The room was lovely and as others say, the bathroom was new and clean. Nice views. Supermarket just 3min walk away, who stock the essentials."

Read all La Barraca Suites reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.79

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation policy: Before 10 days: 100% of impending booking will be charged Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send the security code (CVV/CVC) of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits of the number on the signature strip at the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in you loosing your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bariloche

Hostel El Gaucho
18.75 USD

Hostel 84.3% 92 reviews
Green House Hostel Bariloche
16.52 USD

Hostel 94.4% 65 reviews
Hosteria La Luna
12.61 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Alaska Hostel
16.52 USD

Hostel 89.7% 108 reviews
Tangoinn Downtown
17.13 USD

Hostel 87.7% 127 reviews
Hostel Los Troncos
16.83 USD

Hostel 94.5% 33 reviews
Marcopolo inn Hostel
15.30 USD

Hostel 84.6% 124 reviews
Punto Sur Hostel
15.30 USD

Hostel 83.9% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

39 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Barraca Suites'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
97.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 39 of 42 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was secure, spacious, well kept iwth a nice garden and dining area. The rooms were very professionally laid out and cleaned with fresh towels every day. The kitchen was also very clean and well kept. The staff were helpful if not overly friendly.

Disliked: When I arrived I coud not get a response at the door marked reception but I found out later that the manager stays just opposite. There was nothing to show this so I went away and came back later. The coffee was cold every morning and I felt rushed in the morning because as soon as I sat down for breakfast they were asking if they could clean the room. The water system was also strange and hard to figure out, when you go to have a shower there is a trickle and then a rush of very hot water - a bit dangerous.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colm O Connor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Colm would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for a double room, spotlessly clean, good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: The trek up the hill is a bit of a pain but I wouldn´t discourage anyone becase of it. You wont find a nicer place for this price anywhere else in Argentina.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best value for money place I´ve found in Argentina, really nice rooms and views

Disliked: There is a walk up the hill to get to it, but you cant get the views without it, so get a cab

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Satff were very helpful. Rooms in hostel were lovely.

Disliked: Location - it's a 15 mins steep climb from town

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2011

Liked: Very clean Great views Kitchen was clean and had all the necessities Peaceful Nice garden. Great for couples looking for a quite getaway.

Disliked: The owner was hardly ever around to ask information. Some days the house was deserted so not the most of sociable places Very very stingy breakfast considering the price compared to other places. No lock on the bathroom door. Long walk up the hill from town. (Be careful there are two barraca hostels .. make sure you say Barraca SUITES!)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

12 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view from the lounge. Just far enough out of town to be away from the bustle. Rooms were nicely decorated.

Disliked: The breakfast was a little uninspired.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was pleasant surprised by the size of our room at La Barraca Suites (No. 6) -- large bedroom and huge closet. We had a great view of the lake as well. The owner spoke good English and was very helpful. The best thing about our stay, however, was the great people we met there. We spent several evenings sharing stories with the other travelers.

Disliked: There wasn't anything I disliked about this property. However, if you don't have a car and aren't a big walker, the climb up and down from downtown to the hostel can be tough. Fortunately, I'm a big walker, but even I was a little winded climbing up the last hill.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

22 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clean, nice view, good showers, quiet place with garden.

Disliked: slight problem with the toilet. Breakfast not special.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Beard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2011 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the terrace is awesome of the lake and surrounding areas. From room 5 you have the same view and can also downtown Bariloche. The rooms are hotel quality with lots of nice little touches. You also get a good selection of cable channels in English. The walk to centro takes around 10 minutes. Coming back it's only the last 2 minutes or so that is steep. Friendly staff, laundry done on site. Manager is very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and buses etc. Excellent value for money. Great for couples.

Disliked: Room 5 has a shared bathroom so they should have a bin in the room. You have to go downstairs all the time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, pleasant, convenient location. Quiet at night - easy to sleep.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Stevenson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place - like a boutique hotel with hostel prices!The hostel has a beautiful reception area with views of the lake and mountains, good kitchen, wi-fi and really helpful staff. The bathrooms are brilliant and the beds are all new and really comfortable. If you're looking for a break from the hostel scene, this is the place: we had a private en-suite double for the price of two dorm beds elsewhere.

Disliked: I loved the peace but if you want to party it might not be for you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wouter Peters

12 January 2010 Wouter would recommend this property

Liked: ceded

Disliked: Wouter left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private, quite. More for couples then for partying

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joerg Fockenberg

09 February 2009 Joerg would recommend this property

Liked: Nice house, clean, spaceious rooms,....

Disliked: Joerg left no negative feedback.