HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Green House Hostel Bariloche

Hostel | Calle Tronador 4651, Avenida Bustillo, Bariloche, Argentina 8400

93.6% Overall Rating

60 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2014)

"It is nice that the staff takes a lot of time to show you what's around Bariloche. And was very helpful in arranging things, and even drops you off and picks you up. The hostel has a nice vibe and is very clean."

Read all Green House Hostel Bariloche reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bariloche

La Barraca Suites
13.90 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 42 reviews
Hostel El Gaucho
12.00 USD

Hostel 84.3% 92 reviews
Hosteria La Luna
12.78 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Alaska Hostel
12.41 USD

Hostel 89.7% 108 reviews
Apartments Flia. Baumann
6.83 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Tangoinn Downtown
12.41 USD

Hostel 87.7% 127 reviews
Hostel Los Troncos
13.65 USD

Hostel 94.5% 33 reviews
Marcopolo inn Hostel
13.65 USD

Hostel 84.6% 124 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

60 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green House Hostel Bariloche'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 56 of 62 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is nice that the staff takes a lot of time to show you what's around Bariloche. And was very helpful in arranging things, and even drops you off and picks you up. The hostel has a nice vibe and is very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marilyn Lindahl

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 March 2014 Marilyn would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay. It's a very nice hostel with fabulous interior spaces, a very large kitchen, many tables for dining, a large living or family room. The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms spacious. They also picked us up and dropped us off at the airport at a very reasonable cost. We really liked Brian and the others who work with him, and they were very helpful for suggestions as to how to spend our time in Bariloche.

Disliked: It is a few kilometers out of town, but it is on the busline.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronika Ruecker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2014 Veronika would recommend this property

Liked: Can't get any better! The guys running the hostel are wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The dorms, common rooms and bathrooms are very clean and there's a really nice atmosphere to just hang out and meet people. The location is a plus, too, since there's not too much to see in Bariloche anyway. However getting there is no problem at all because there are busses running regularly. You have beautiful views of the lake and are close to lots of nice hikes and also the beach.

Disliked: Veronika left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Stephenson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel. One of the best that we've stayed in during our trip around SA. Private double room was comfy, clean and spacious, bathroom was good standard with really powerful showers and breakfast was tasty - so ticks all the important boxes for us. The owner - Brian - is also an absolute legend and really made our stay. Top bloke who was more than happy to sort out anything you need. Finally, don't worry about location. Although it's 4kms from the centre of Bariloche, we found that to be perfect as we were only 2mins walk from a bus stop which takes you to all the main areas of interest (which are all about 10 to 20kms outside of Bariloche anyway in the direction of Green House). Also, plenty of local amenities within short walking distance, such as supermarkets and restaurants, so my girlfriend and I actually only ended up venturing into the centre of Bariloche once in our entire stay...to catch the bus to leave!

Disliked: Joe left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eoin Casey

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 November 2013 Eoin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. Very knowledge staff with great tips for exploring the area. Nice chilled atmosphere with good cooking facilities and well located for hikes and biking in the area.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The high level of attention of the owner. Always willing to help with absolutely anything and with a smile on his face.

Disliked: Private double room was very small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sadie Sutcliffe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Sadie would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely lovely hostel! Really good atmosphere, very chilled out and cool. It was clean and the kitchen was good too! Really enjoyed our stay here and Brian (the owner) was very helpful and welcoming.

Disliked: Sadie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Riley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

13 May 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely EVERYTHING!! This hostel is amazing! When we arrived (after a very long bus), Santiago welcomed us with lovely snacks :) it's such a clean hostel and has the nicest smelling bathrooms!! This place is literally the nicest hostel we have stayed in in the whole of South America. Fantastic group of people who we met and we will certainly keep in touch, we definitely recommend Green House!!

Disliked: Nothing at all, we love this place!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jedda Crabtree

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Jedda would recommend this property

Liked: Brian the owner and his friends are so helpful. It is very homely, with little plants and decorations everywhere. It was quiet, but still has a social vibe, which is what I want, I hate the party hostels. They help you with the area when ever you ask for direction, anytime. The bus stop is just around the corner and it is in a nice residential area out of the horrible touristic centre, and closer to the attractions (the beautiful forests and lakes!) great place!

Disliked: Nothing really, the Internet didn't work in my room, but these things happen sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michèle Lochmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2013 Michèle would recommend this property

Liked: I really love this place :-) All is very nice - the style, atmosphere, staff, facilities, beds, bathrooms (they havet e best showers on the continent ;-)) And I had here the best sleep since months! :-) Take care and see you a other time :-)

Disliked: Michèle left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert Madison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: I'm entering my 3rd month of travel and I must say this is one of the nicest hostels I've stayed at, I've actually extended my stay. The hostel itself is large and clean, with views of the lake and mountains from the dorms. The kitchen is well stocked, internet works good, staff is great at helping plan excursions, beds are comfortable, and there is a bus stop and grocery store nearby. Oh, and they picked me up from the bus station which was fantastic.

Disliked: I never trust a review that has no negatives, so I'll leave some petty ones: the music during the evening could be improved on and one of the lights in the mens bathroom is burned out. Also, the curtain rods for the showers could be tightened up a little, the one is loose. Very minor issues that I actually had to think hard about. Other than that everything is kosher.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazingly helpful, the kitchen is always looked after, clean and has everything you need entirely, each bed has its own small reading light in a 'cubby hole' which is great in the evening to store your books etc while you sleep. Overall great relaxing hostel!

Disliked: Nada

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ludovic Neuville

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2013 ludovic would recommend this property

Liked: everything is clean, dorm room are great, personal locker and bedside space with lamp and sockets.

Disliked: a bit far away from center but I knew that before :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, super cute building inside and out. AMAZING water pressure in the showers I felt like I was at a spa.

Disliked: Not the best atomosphere for meeting people and making friends, although everyone is nice. Its just not a place where you all do things together in the evening or that sort of thing. But then again, not everyone wants that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberley Cook

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the double room with a balcony and it was great! a nice little view and very relaxing. The hostel was a great place and the owners were nice and helpful. It was a pretty good location as we didn´t really go into the main town. There is a good brewey only a kilometre down the road, La Cruz. Breakfast was good as was the kitchen.

Disliked: nothing, we would like to go back there!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Camila Cano

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2012 Maria Camila would recommend this property

Liked: Me encanto el hostel, son muy amables sus dueños. Queda un poco retirado del centro pero es mejor dormir tranquilamente escuchando el sonido del lado. Es genial! Voy a volver, Bariloche es un encanto.

Disliked: Maria Camila left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nicolas Psara Lassalle

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 November 2012 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel offers a great kitchen and a big and confortable common area. Rooms are ok and the staff was really helpfull.

Disliked: I got bitten by bugs the first night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ania Freer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Ania would recommend this property

Liked: The Green House is one of the cleanest and most thoughtful hostels I have stayed. Everything is set out perfectly to have an easy stay. We came in low season so was really quiet but that was fine for us. It was about a 45 minute walk to town though the bus left from right out front so that was no issue.

Disliked: No Wifi in our room but not a problem. Forced me to mingle in the common room which worked out well.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people

Disliked: Phones at bus station didn't work so couldn't arrange bus terminal pick up

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had the double room with private bathroom and mini kitchen in the attic. It was a great room for relaxing when the weather wasn't great, and it was useful being able to make some of our own food in the little kitchen and store ingredients in our own fridge. Owner was super helpful - he even lent us his own money one day to save us a trip into town. Kitchen and living areas are nice, kitchen is spacious and well stocked with equipment and basic ingredients.

Disliked: Location was great for us as we were doing Spanish lessons at the Bariloche Spanish School just down the road, however it was a bus ride from town and it was difficult to get cash without going into town. You are slightly closer to Llao Llao and some trailheads, but you will be taking a bus to most places (sometimes irregular and infrequent). Not generally a problem but good to be aware of this.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet location, great view, laid back atmosphere, helpful staff

Disliked: probably too few toilets and showers when crowded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very welcoming and friendly, clean and well maintained. Atmosphere was great. Felt right at home. Very helpful too.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

William roxburgh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the staff and the way they organised things for their customers

Disliked: too far away from the centre

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice atmosphere, great view and very herlpful staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff and a great communal and kitchen area.

Disliked: A little way out of town so you have to get a bus to get anywhere.