We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel El Gaucho

Hostel | AV. BELGRANO 209., Bariloche, Argentina 8400

83.8% Overall Rating

83 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/02/2013)

"Tito the manager is very very nice and will help you with everything! Kitchen is fully equipped and clean! Best place in Bariloche!"

Read all Hostel El Gaucho reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bariloche

La Barraca Suites
8.85 USD

Guesthouse 90.4% 43 reviews
Green House Hostel Bariloche
10.62 USD

Hostel 95.1% 66 reviews
Tangoinn Downtown
12.98 USD

Hostel 87.7% 127 reviews
Marcopolo inn Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 84.6% 124 reviews
Alaska Hostel
11.80 USD

Hostel 89.7% 108 reviews
Punto Sur Hostel
11.80 USD

Hostel 83.9% 14 reviews
Hosteria Las Marianas
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 13 reviews
Hostel Inn Bariloche
12.98 USD

Hostel 88.6% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

83 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel El Gaucho'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 63 of 65 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tito the manager is very very nice and will help you with everything! Kitchen is fully equipped and clean! Best place in Bariloche!

Disliked: 7min walk from center

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

ariel barberis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 ariel would recommend this property

Liked: there were two kitchens which was ok. the breakfast was normal. not a big whoop.

Disliked: we walked in and a not so welcoming face said there is no room. after we said we have a reservation he tried to be nicer, only for us to know that we were about to pay more than what hostel bookers stated. HE CHARGED US 5 PESOS MORE due to some greedy desire and bullshiting us on the dif currency charge between hostel bookers or whatever. the rooms had no keys, meaning no privacy, no safety. the lockers were a hot mess, run down and falling apart. the bathrooms were a mess, the crew was not helpfull, and the same unwelcoming guy at the desk tried to push too much for us to stay longer. i will def not come back there again. absolutly never.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Informal atmosphere and helpfulness of the owner

Disliked: We were welcomed with the words " no hay lugar" very unprofessional attitude, since we made reservations. Maybe a young kid needs some training before taking over the front desk.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a nice atmosphere and the kitchen and eating area was nice.

Disliked: They tried to make us pay in US $ which is pretty ridiculous when we are traveling around Argentina for 6 months and the currency is pesos.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the city centre. Friendly receptionists although most of them only spoke Spanisch and could not help a lot with excursions. Big lockers where all our luggage fit in (one big and one small backpack).

Disliked: The kitchen could be cleaner.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, not too far from the center, Good staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was close to the center...just one minute walking. the hostel is clean.the brakfast is nice. the stuff is very very nice..we stayd in the hostel 8 days and we recommend it very much!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: for me the best thing in this hostel is the stuff, they do their best to help other then nthat it is clean hotel with good atmosphere

Disliked: my room window was in the street side, it is not a busy street, but in thr morning yoy feel every car that pass

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, very friendly staff, good coffee, quiet

Disliked: breakfast could be a bit more, just two little buns with jam, but i don`t wanna complain about it :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

beatriz zabala

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2011 beatriz would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice staff.

Disliked: nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was excellent at giving suggestions for all budgets about Bariloche and other places in Argentina! There were two kitchens and common rooms which made it a good place to chat and cook with other people. Would highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: because of overbooking we were moved to a shared apartment of the Owners mother, a friendly elderly lady that runs her place just a little bit up the hill. First we were a little disapointed of not being able to socialise with the Hostel gaucho's guest but in the end we loved our 4 nights in Bariloche! the place was a little worn out but with fully equiped kitchen (which we used 3 ot of 4 nights) and tv in room and living area. , beds bit creaky but enough comfortable. There are many convenient local shops around (Bakery, supermarket, internet place and laundry) Be prepared to walk up a long hill though! It worked out well for us but for

Disliked: nothing we couldn't cope with ;)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Mills

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful when we were planning our excursions, giving suggestions and good advice.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RODRIGO RAMOS

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

31 July 2010 RODRIGO would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful in our stay.

Disliked: Nothing disliked us.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Greg Butler

23 April 2010

Liked: First, note that they do not give you credit for the 10% hostelbookers deposit. Since this fee goes to hostelbookers directly, they don't consider it a deposit and they will charge you full rate even though you pay 10% upfront. In short, you end up paying 110% of the rate listed on the hostelbookers website. Second, we stayed in a double with a private bath, and it was spartan and outright dodgy. Bathroom had a shower, but no bath-tub or partition. Meaning that everytime you took a shower, you had to squee-gee the bathroom floor. For the money, you can do better in Bariloche. With that said, the owners were helpful and pleasant (aside from their suspect accounting pratices), and I comment comment on the dorm bunks...they may be a better value.

Disliked: Greg left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, laundry done within 4 hours, good breakfastOnly problem is it is up a very streep hill - difficult with heavy backpacks

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, a bus or taxi ride from the bus station, not really walking distance if you have a backpack. Double room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Kitchen and common room a bit small. Staff really friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel. The staff were brilliant, the place was spotless & facilities were really good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kara taylor

22 January 2010 kara would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, especially the owners who were just lovely and helped us book excursions etc and gave us loads of info.The rooms are pretty basic but they are clean and do the trick. Would definately recommend as a budget place to stay

Disliked: kara left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alex Kortekaas

10 January 2010 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet new people with a very friendly staff. They helped us around, provided us with maps and information and they allowed us to use the facilities after the check-out.

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Gooser

25 November 2009 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxing, comfortable place both to stay and to hang out. The owners Ingride and Hube are extremely knowledgeable about the local area, about Patagonia and about Argentina in general and are more than willing to help you with your travel plans. They certainly helped me knock my itinerary into shape! I'll definitely be staying there again when I'm back in Bariloche.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

melanie kunze

13 November 2009 melanie would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast could be better, nice views, nice staff

Disliked: melanie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elida Rabelo

19 October 2009 Elida would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpfull. It is great value for money!!!

Disliked: Elida left no negative feedback.