HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Shkoder hostels

Reviews of Florian Shkodra Guest House

Hostel | Reparti Ushtarak, Shtoj i Ri, Shkoder, Albania 1111

82.4% Overall Rating

25 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/12/2013)

"Florian welcomes you into his family as a guest and friend. You will meet his mother, father, and sisters who will spoil you with fresh food from their farm and stories about their country will have you laughing,…"

Read all Florian Shkodra Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shkoder?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shkoder

Lake Shkodra Resort
11.98 USD

Campsite Not yet rated
Colosseo Hotel
59.40 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Otedis Shkoder Viola
13.56 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Shkodra Backpackers Hostel - Mi Casa es Tu Casa
16.58 USD

Hostel 89.5% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

25 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Florian Shkodra Guest House'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 30 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Florian welcomes you into his family as a guest and friend. You will meet his mother, father, and sisters who will spoil you with fresh food from their farm and stories about their country will have you laughing, thinking, and knowing Albania through the experience of a family who has been in Shkodor for generations. Also, Florian has been a pioneer in the up-and-coming Balkan tourism industry so he can facilitate all forms of transportation, accommodation, tours, personal experience, etc. If you find yourself in Albania you will do a disservice to yourself if you do not spend some time at Florian's.

Disliked: They should have convinced me to stay longer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Florian's Guesthouse is fantastic! florian is a gracious and friendly host who is eager to share with you about the history and culture of Albania over homemaide dinner made by his mother and sisters and drinking wine made onsite by his father. The atmosphere of the guesthouse is warm and laidback. I enjoyed borrowing a bike and heading down to the lake and checking out the city. I throughly recommend florian's guesthouse, it's unique not only in albania but also internationally, offering a chance to really acclimatise with albanian culture.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Florian's home is a beautiful property just outside of town. Bicycles onsite for a ride into town, home cooked meals under the grape arbor.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zhihui Chin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Zhihui would recommend this property

Liked: The farmhouse, and the family living in it, was lovely, and was located in the outskirts of Shkodër - the scenery surrounding the place was wonderful. Florian, the host, was wonderful and treated us very well - the house had a very laid-back atmosphere and he was more than willing to talk about Albania and his life. We had a wonderful home-cooked dinner with ingredients that were home-grown. The property was also clean (no shoes indoors) and well-kept, and the beds comfortable. Additionally, Florian was very helpful and managed to arrange connecting taxis to our next destination in Montenegro at the same price as the bus!

Disliked: Going to town was not very convenient - it takes about a 15 minute bike ride to the center of Shkodër - or a taxi is required to get to the hostel otherwise (but then again, it's a farmhouse - go elsewhere if you want to be in the center of action). Additionally, the place could do with city maps.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tegan Bradley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Tegan would recommend this property

Liked: What a beautiful guesthouse! Florian & his family are so welcoming & lovely. It's a great set up for socializing with other travelers, the tour of the city was fantastic, and the dinners & wine are great. Florian went above & beyond to get us not o my to the guesthouse but also made sure we were safe on our way to our next destination. We would absolutely recommend it to anyone planning on staying in Shkodër!

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Proctor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful courtyard covered in vines. Delicious home grown food. Florian was very helpful and took us on a taxi ride tour. Could borrow bikes to ride into town.

Disliked: There was only one communal area in the courtyard. It was a quite a way from the town

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great food, great atmosphere, great people! Florian is really helpful and also provides really interesting conversation about Albanian history and culture. The bikes that Florian offers are a lovely way to explore the city centre - there are nice parks, monuments, shops, cafes, etc., and Lake Shkodra is not too much further. I used Florian's as a base camp for my hiking trip around Theth and Valbona, which was very beautiful. If you're in Shkodra I really recommend staying here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Florian and his family are wonderful and provided an authentic introduction to semi-rural Albanian life. Florian' s mother and sister cooked us an almost completely homegrown meal for dinner and breakfast (extra cost) and Florian took us on a tour of the fort (extra charge). There are several bikes available for guest use. Our stay was brief but very interesting!

Disliked: While Florian's was great for us, guests accustomed to more amenity should remember that Albania is a developing nation- not fancy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very friendly, and made us feel very welcome.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family was really nice, and they made really good food.

Disliked: A bit on the expensive side if you come in the winter.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012

Liked: 35-minute walk from the city centre, so it is secluded and peaceful.

Disliked: Worst hostel experience ever. Florian is incredibly dishonest. He first tried to charge me 30 euros for my room and breakfast (it was supposed to be 13 euros with breakfast included). Then he told me the buses I need to get out of the city the following day are not running (which was a lie) and I should stay an extra night. Then he suggested I take a 2hr taxi ride (at 10x the price of a bus) with his driver. These are just a few of the many examples where he constantly tried to rip me off. If he tries to organize or upsell you anything, beware that he's likely trying to take advantage of you.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dawson Jope

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2012 Dawson would recommend this property

Liked: Florian's guesthouse is an awesome place, the best in Shkoder. The family is very friendly and helpful, and you are treated to wonderful homemade food, wine, and rakia. If you'd like to go into town you can borrow a bike and ride into town just like any local. I highly recommend this place, a genuine Albanian experience!

Disliked: Fresh water can be hard to come by, and the plumbing is temperamental

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sam Steven

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 October 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The home cooked food, the availablility of bikes, the good english spoken by Florian. Home made wine which is a nice change. It's a home stay experience totally different to your usual hostel.

Disliked: The price is similar to other hostels in Albania yet the beds are average - (similar to camp stretchers), the internet was affected by the power cuts - 2 when i was there. The shower was cold and suddenly boiling hot. The room stunk of animals - cats it would seem. Some of this is acceptable because it's a country type home stay sort of experience. HOWEVER Florian trying to do the usual Albanian trick of ripping you off a small amount by giving the price in LEK currency instead of euro and adding the equivalent of 2 euro more onto the agreed price once he had added in the price for the meals! TOTALLY lost my respect for doing so. It's only a euro or two but it's the PRINCIPLE of doing this which really PISSED me off ! This sort of trick will piss many a traveller off as it sours a really neat experience

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Florian and his family are very welcoming. He has a lovely home and the food was excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jakub Stawiski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012

Liked: I really enjoyed the extremely warm and friendly reception in the guesthous. FLORIAN IS AN ABSOLUTE LEGEND!

Disliked: I really enjoyed the extremely warm and friendly reception in the guesthous. FLORIAN IS AN ABSOLUTE LEGEND!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kees van Stokkum

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Kees would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere surrounding the place, in particular the tranquillity compared to the chaos of Shkodra. Florian is a really nice guy, who is always prepared to do a little extra for his guests. For example, when I stayed there, two girls showed up without reservation. It was allready fully booked, but he cleared one of his own rooms to accomodate them. I also like the trip to the Komani ferry he organized. Really nice experience!

Disliked: I couldn't stay longer.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Eugenia Martinez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012

Liked: internet connection was ok

Disliked: I think this place was the worst in my life. First there is no public transport and every time you leave the place you should pay only taxi. No bus. Bikes are limited. Owener promised us that there is no problem to take them - but when we arrived- there were no bikes. You should think in advance about your food. There are no shops, markets etc nearby. We were really lucky to have some fruit with us. The room was clean but bedlinen was brought only at 8 p.m. No towels. There was a suitcase of other person in the room and some clothers in the wardrob so it looked like that someone else is living in the room and we have only a bed to sleep. We did not feel friendly attention or good atmosphere so were so happy that reserved this acommodation only for one night. I think this place is more suitable for people who want to be deep in Albanian village life and no for backpackers who want to discover Shkoder and nearby area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

junko iizuka

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012 junko would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and dinner were great!!

Disliked: this hostel is not close to the city centre

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved being a part of an Albanian family, even if it was just for one night! Florian and his family were super welcoming, and made sure you felt comfortable and well fed! The property is set away from town so you have quiet and feel like you are really in the countryside. Loved the pigs, chickens and all of the fruit trees, and veggies grown on property. Dinner was delish! All homemade by Florian's sisters. And the wine is produced on property too. Also use of the free bikes was really nice to be able to get to town and ride around to see the lake and castle! Great experience! Would definitely come back again!!

Disliked: The only con was that is was pretty much necessary to take a taxi to and from the house. The cost is 500 lek, each way, which is kinda pricey when compared with other transportation costs in Albania. You could definitely walk if you had the time and clear directions (it's an easy and pretty straight walk but there are no signs until you reach the house) but it would probably take 30-40 minutes or more and with bags, the taxi is definitely the way to go! Of course, being set away from the town is also one of the great features of this place so it really is worth the cost of the taxi!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012

Liked: The garden

Disliked: Extremely far from the city center, you cannot find the address without the taxi driver so much recommended by the owner, wich adds to the room charge, but as it is the only option in Shkoder... The room is not very clean, at least the beds.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luka Jesenko

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2012 Luka would recommend this property

Liked: Florian is very friendly and interesting guy who will happily told you interesting facts and stories about his country during the delicious diner prepared by his family from home grown vagatables, bread and wine. And even if you dont order dinner, he will invite you for a glass of coca cola on his porch to hang out with him and other guests. His house is located in very interesting suburbs of Shkodra about 15 minutes walk from the center of the city. You can also borrow bikes for free :)

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Allen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at Florian's has been a highlight of my trip- he treats you like the guest of honour and dinner was excellent, so was the wine! Also he lends you his bike to get into town.

Disliked: Little bit out of town - which is fine once you get there - beware taxi drivers when you first get off the bus - best to give Florian a call

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great little guesthouse located just outside Shkoder. The people running the guesthouse are very welcoming and friendly - Florian organized a tour of the high points of the town, gave us bikes to use for free to ride through Shkoder, and arranged transportation for us to Koman Lake early the next morning. The dinner they served was excellent - the food was prepared from vegetables from their garden, and was delicious.

Disliked: One issue we encountered is that the amount listed on HostelBookers (37 Euro/night for two people) is different than what Florian told us we owed when we got there (40 Euro for two). He also didn't understand when we said we paid a deposit online, so we ended up being out about 6 Euro. Not a big deal, especially since it was such a nice place to stay, but should be mentioned.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family was very friendly and welcomed me into their home. The house and gardens are beautiful. The dinners were excellent. A fantastic place to relax while in Shkoder.

Disliked: There is no fan in the room, so sleep was impossible. Couldn't open the window because of the mosquitoes, but a fan would make a world of difference.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great experience staying with Florian's family. Food from the garden is great. Dinner and breakfast is included in full board. Wifi is good. Showers are fine. Florian is very helpful with organising tours/pickups etc. Location is good just on edge of town which we liked. Bikes are available for use any time. This stay made our Albanian experience perfect. If you are visiting Shkoder I recommend staying here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Shkoder hostels